Tomorrow is a momentous day, MLK Day and the second inauguration of BHO. I’m prone to sadness, wishing I could share this moment with my father. He would have been chuffed beyond belief. Was planning to stitch up a commemorative redwork sampler, but some distance is necessary to get to a non-cheesy design.

So how about a new blanket instead? Here’s the one-year diary.

  • February 26, 2012

Umm…

i’ll never get over my love of little granny squares. i got a slow start on working my way through lots more wool.

umm...

i’ve been “working scrappy” for so long that i didn’t understand when a friend mentioned to me that she had yarn “leftovers.” small amounts of yarn are just yarn to me. “leftovers” don’t mark the end of one project and a conundrum, rather they are the basis for a new beginning. but then that means that the projects never end! that might be too weird and stressful even for me.

i finally realized that i desperately want to work through all my commercial worsted yarn stash so that i may focus on the handdyeds and also move on to using the obscene amount of sock yarn in my house.

  • March 2, 2012:

tiny grannies!

Last autumn, my buddy Laura‘s mom, Dorothy, sent me a shoebox of a zillion little 2-round granny squares that she found cast off by some college student. Interesting to think of the person who made all these squares and then left them behind in the dorm…

tiny grannies!

These are acrylic, but they are going to fit into my latest blanket project quite nicely.

ETA: These ended up being a bit of an extra “challenge”: they were missing some chain stitches and the ends were super short and needed to be tucked in. It still was fun to use them.

  • March 19, 2012:

i got this orange yarn in a closeout somewhere sometime. it’s a sweet ombre that ranges between primary orange and a sweet pinkish tone. wish i could remember the brand and where i got it.

delicious orange

ETA: it’s Di.Ve Autunno and seems to be sold out and discontinued. boo.

untitled

  • December 24, 2012:

when i work on this i just keep thinking about how great these colors are and how great they are together. just a ton of scraps and oddballs, but so satisfying.

untitled

that red! that purple! that orange! oh my…!

  • January 18, 2013:

Every time I think I am almost done with this blanket, whole new blank areas open up.

++++

Grrrr.

untitled

  • January 19, 2013:

scalloping.

finished the 1,089 little 2″ squares, put on a hdc round, and now started scalloping. seems like it’s just one movie away from done.

scalloping

  • January 20, 2013

All done.

untitled

Whew.

It’s SNUGGLE TIME!

The Details

Pattern: 2-round granny squares imrpovised in setting
Materials: various wool yarn; found acrylic squares; 2550g
Finished size: 75″ square
Started: Late autumn 2011
Finished: January 20, 2013