Is it okay if I move on from the kerfuffle? At some point at QuiltCon someone said that I’ve made potty-mouth quilting and crafting my thing and it made me pause to reflect. I guess it’s one part of the things I do, but I make loads of other things. So when it flares up, it can feel mighty claustrophobic and seem like folks might get the wrong impression of what it is that I do.

Anyway, I had another quilt hanging at QuiltCon and it won first place for small applique quilts. This was a total surprise since it’s my first applique quilt ever.

IMG_8721

Maybe I’ll get a lesson or two and try this again?

You can see round-ups of photos of the QuiltCon winners on this blog or, more compactly, in this flickr set. There were some lovely quilts in the show. First place in large pieced quilts was this Ron Swanson by Monica Solorio-Snow. My good buddy Jacey got in on the photo but only with her own ‘stache.

Jacey + Ron

Mostly I met a zillion quilters, stared at many quilts, and attended a few lectures. You can see some of the lectures for free over here on Craftsy. Some were really great, some were really okay, and one was rather infuriating.

When I needed a moment of solitude, I’d find a quiet corner of the convention center and just stitch for a while.

IMG_8856

There’s not going to be a single potty-mouthed word in this redwork sampler.