There are lots of thoughts swirling and twirling around these parts and I find myself with precious little time to contemplate. But, yes, here are some questions:

  1. Should one let naysayers have input on one’s creativity? If they previously disapproved, that is, should one take that into account in the next thing one makes? If so, how?
  2. Who decides what one makes? And by letting others have control of what one makes, is that a sign of buying whole-hog into ideologies, however repressive, oppressive and anti-intellectual they might be?
  3. Should one dig in one’s heels, have self-confidence, stick to one’s principles and make what one wants to make because it is meaningful and fulfilling? Or should one be hypyer-aware of who is watching and kowtow to their tastes instead?
  4. Should one bow to adversity, cowering in a corner licking her wounds and apologizing for her existence?

Of course, the answers are not simple “yes” or “no,” but rather acknowledge a simple “f*ck you” to those who wish to silence anything new, different or challenging, while also taking care to remain true to oneself. Next steps are difficult enough when walking into the Great Unknown. Seems best to shed the naysayer monkeys upfront.

Is it okay if I vent here? Just a little? Nothing too specific?

So…yeah…f*ck you. You know who you are. [If you have trouble parsing this line, I refer you to Carly Simon's enigmatic classic, "You're So Vain."]

I am here. I make stuff. I don’t need you to like everything I make. I do need you to see me as a fellow human being and behave accordingly.

And now we may go on.

The best fabrics I’ve ever laid hands on? Eh, I dunno. But Oakshott‘s shot cottons come close.

Snuggleshott

A gift of some scraps from Lynne came along about a year ago and then a gift of a little stack of fat quarters from the company directly. Fortunately, I’d already ordered some sample charms and a few FQs and half-yards, so I was already drooling and ready to pounce when they arrived. Honestly, after one canoodle with these cottons and you won’t be able to resist the motherlode.

Snuggleshott

Improv and precision piecing go well together.

I love that acceptance of the gift of fabric did not yoke me into a particular aesthetic. I was allowed to make what I wanted to make because it felt right with the fabrics. And when not using the fabrics, I was still able to be myself.

Oh, and I didn’t forget to make a little “mistake.”

Snuggleshott

Thanks again, to my friends, family and loyal critical critics. [Again, if you have trouble parsing, let me just say that you know who you are.]

The Details:

Pattern: precision and improv patchwork
Materials: all 83 colors of Oakshott shot cottons; plain muslin for backing; leftover cotton print for binding
Techniques: machined pieced; longarm machine quilted by Tia Curtis Quilts; and hand-bound
Finished size: 64″ square
Started: March 4, 2012
Patchwork finished: April 23, 2012
Finished: March 9, 2013