I haven’t really celebrated my birthday much in the past 30 years. You know, I just have a quiet day with a few friends or even just give myself a day of solitude catnapping with a good book. This year, I treated myself to a couple of gifts (coffee, fabric, a book, etc) and even actually told people it was coming up. I dunno why this year is different, but it is.

And I decided to give myself the gift of a piece of artwork that also brings myself into the light.

srsly me

srsly me

srsly me

srsly me

srsly me

srsly me

srsly me

It’s the first of what I will call a “slow selfie.” Much like me, a work-in-progress, subverting the instant pace of digital life…by slowly developing.

Here’s the backside for you cheeky monkeys.

srsly me

Some data? I did this like everyone else does: one stitch at a time. At 20 st/in, amounting to 10″ square…that’s 40,400 stitches. Each one was meaningful, even during Operation Blackify to achieve the chiaroscuro. During this winter break from RealJob, I made this my full-time pursuit—at least 8 hours a day most days. It took 25 days.

Here it all is in a 15 second flash of a video.

.
Have a great week!