Last week was wonderful and then awful and then great again. Mostly, I find that I love almost all of my RealJob, especially when I get the time to succeed at it.

And in the wee hours after enough work gets done each night, I can do something else that I seem to be improving at through diligent practice.

Progress

Seriously, I woke up with this stitchery in my hands more mornings last week than I’d like to admit. Let’s gloat about not getting stabbed by needles or scissors yet, though. Heh. Wait, no, knock on wood, spin around three times…gotta maintain this lucky streak. Who knew this would become my nightmare?

Anyway, this is another “slow selfie.” An exercise in mimicking painting and another design using extreme chiaroscuro, this has been a nice way to practice blending colors and making strategic shadows.

Stitch break!

The only painful part is that one can only see the desired glow in contrast with large areas of darkness. The blackification of the background will take a long long time and maybe even be worthwhile in the end. Once I get the hang of things, I’ll start doing less of this background stuff and focus more on the rest. Every stitch seems like a learning moment now, however. Believe it or not, I’m actually using black and a few dark browns to try to create more texture in the darkness. So far, I haven’t figured out how to do it without distracting from the focus region, but we’ll see…

Have a great week, friends!