Spent the past week in a decongestant fog, going through all the motions and getting everything done but no progress made on any artistic front. Okay, I mean no visible progress. There’s a big quilt idea running around my head and I’m just trying to figure out how to engineer the construction.

FUTAB with Bates

Felt nice to put my feet up and just veg in front of the teevee for a while. And this turned out to be good time for letting the ideas brew.

Untitled

An afternoon doodle helped me answer questions about how small one can go versus how small I want to go in this next much-too-ambitious work.

Untitled

Was important to test out quilting too, so I just completed into this mini.

Untitled

And now…I am ready to hunker down and get going on the BIG thing using tiny pieces.

Untitled

Have a great week!

The Details

Pattern: precision and improv patchwork
Materials:scraps from the bin
Techniques: machined pieced; "matchstick" machine quilted in lines about 1/8" apart; and hand-bound
Finished size: 16" x 11"
Started and Finished: March 1, 2014