So, a long while ago I got an email from some person, Rachel, out of nowhere asking to talk about quilts. I’m not one to shy away from chatting about cotton, fabric, quilting, quilters, and stuff, so it was an easy “yes!”

And then I found out just how interesting and lovely Rachel May is. A simple googling turned up an award-winning creative writer who combined her words with textiles from time to time. Go ahead, click on through to her site to see her lovely work. You won’t regret the experience.

We had a long and winding conversation about the ethics and practices of marketing fabrics these days and the choices one can make to buy differently. She’d just been to Quilt Market and entertained me with tales of her experience there. [I've still never been to one.] Oh, and I droned on and on about why I make quilts and stuff. In the end, it turned out that I had had my first conversation about quilting in which I didn’t feel admonished or ridiculed for my choices.

Through the usual channels I heard that several other quilters I know and respect, but who (like me) are not the usual suspects, had also been interviewed by her. Hmm… Months of pleasant editorial exchanges about photos and words ensued and Rachel just turned out to be more and more amazing throughout that process. And now there’s a really great new book about quilters and quilting out there.

Quilting With a Modern Slant

Her book Quilting with a Modern Slant is, in one word, a feast. There are many interesting quilts that step outside of the usual one sees today. And there are impeccable versions of the usual too. I skip over patterns usually, but noticed that these are also not the ordinary. The profiles of quilters are smartly written and the variety, again, is impressive.

Rachel reaches back to the quilters who inspired us long before we learned to sew, like Anna Williams.

IMG_0656

And asks us to take a moment to consider quilts made from different materials (such as Tyvek) by sculptors like Andrew Mowbray.

IMG_0658

There’s something for everyone—quilter or appreciator—in this book. I recommend it to those who would like a broad view of this genre of art and design as it is practiced by a wide range of folks today.

Yes, I’m in the book and I got a copy for free. Yet I bought a second copy at full price to give away here. The book is that good. Just leave a comment on this post mentioning your favorite quilter or a quilter who you think I ought to know. I’ll choose a commenter at random for the book on Monday, March 24 at 11:59pm.

Giveaway is closed.