I’ve been plugging away making stars here and there for the past week, thinking that the process would become boring eventually. Turns out that pre-cutting fabrics is a pleasant task in itself and then one can just sit and sew with very little preparation.

There are now 15 finished scrappy stars all sashed up for my project. The star fabrics are castoffs gotten as donations from my flickr friends over the past couple of years. Some of the fabrics are decidedly ugly, while others are gems.

The real beauty of scrap quilting is the transforming nature of scrappiness. That is, all but the ugliest of prints/colors can become lovely when conscientiously surrounded by lots of other different prints/colors. So I tend not to pay much attention to the provenance of a print when working on these sorts of projects. Of course, that doesn’t mean that I don’t have fabrics in my non-scrap stash that I hoard and am reticent to cut into. Perhaps some day I’ll share a few of those here?

Anyway, when my buddy Jocelyn suggested that we swap stars, I had two reasons to pause. The first reason is that I am hoping to fast-track this project and finish the patchwork by the end of August. My control-freak tendencies made me wonder if I’ll be twiddling my thumbs waiting for her stars to arrive before I can put the quilt together–I have plans for where different colors will go and so I will have to wait. But it only took a moment for me to realize that, of course, the quilt will be more special with her stars in it and so it will be worth a reasonable wait.

The second reason I had to think twice is that Jocelyn specified that she wants her stars to be made with “precious” fabrics–you know, from the highly coveted and sometimes hard-to-find designer lines. And I panicked because I immediately assumed that I don’t really have any of those. The truth is that my head was buried in a vat of motley scraps while most were collecting those. But then I realized she might be okay if I interpret “precious” as “precious to me.”

With full knowledge that these stars are going to someone who will love them, I combed the stash and took up the cutter. Each star only requires one 2.5″ x 14.5″ strip of the focus fabric, so the investment is small.

Sunday night: six more--and this makes 60!

I hope she loves them as much as I do.