This is really The Part That’s Not About George.

Too many paper-piecing failures led me to punish George, but it really is the case that I have to let improvisational projects marinate for some time before I can confidently move on. Often the projects I do in the interim end up informing the design upon return. And George was no different.

I told George that we really needed a break on April 11, 2010. And that’s when I proceeded to canoodle with other projects.

I made 21 bee blocks (here are a few),

finished 4 miniquilts (here’s one),

Scrappy Round-Up: all done

crocheted quite a few hexagons,

last week

finished long-standing quilt works-in-progress and started more new quilt projects (like this one),

Simple Insanity: top done

worked on seekrit projects,

yes, i do still knit.

and played around with stars.

scraptacular star

Next thing I know, on July 6, 2010, George sneaks up on me. I hear him whispering in my ear. He wants to try getting back together and “perhaps we can seal the deal with some stars?”

He always knew the right thing to say.

Next week: the star-struck love affair begins (again?).