I am a serial crafter, working on several projects at once and making incremental progress on each. This is quite in keeping with my shortening attention span and my need to have my fingers in lots of different things to keep learning more and more. Such an approach can result in a flurry of finishes all at once. One FO has another close on its heels.

And this one I can share with you. :)

So about a year and a half ago I initiated a few crafty swaps. It was a way for me to get some handknits without taxing my battered knitting mojo and get a chance to try to design quilts within constraints set by the swap partner. I quickly discovered that I’m not good at being reined in like that and I drag my feet on the projects. But I’ve managed to keep working on each of the three. Two are done, and there’s one to go…

Number One: In exchange for a scarf and a hat, I made this miniquilt for Danielle. She wanted something small in yellows, oranges and browns. I did my best, but I’m not totally satisfied with it. It’s foundation pieced and handquilted; started in October 2009 and finished in June 2010.

Strings for Danielle: all done!

Number Two: In exchange for a lace shawl and a knitted surprise or two, I made this log cabin quilt for Anne. She requested something in oranges and blues and yellows and we talked about some ideas before I settled into this design. It is improv pieced log cabins and machine quilted by The Sometimes Crafter.

swirls!

I finished the binding before work this morning.

for Anne

Number Three: In exchange for an amazing sweater knit by the award winning knitter, Laura, I am working on a precision-pieced quilt. I am a little afraid of all the point-matching required, but a slow-and-steady process will get us there in the next six months. Sorry for the delay, L!

for Laura

Once this third one is done, I’ll retire from this kind of swap while I think about what I’ve learned from the experience.