I realized last night that I’d forgotten to mention in yesterday’s post the first of the quilting-for-knitting swaps! Here’s a blast from my quilting past, completed during March-June 2009.

Whitney designed and knit a beautiful blue sweater for me and in exchange I fulfilled her desire for a minimalist design in blue.

Blue Whimsy: squaring up

The patchwork came together in a day, using some high quality muslin and 15 different shades of blue.

Blue Whimsy:  getting ready for the final long seams

And the longarmer quilted it sweetly. It is 60″ x 67″.

Blue Whimsy: all done

We call it “Blue Whimsy.” And I love it. I am highly critical of my own designs and this one is one of which I am truly proud. It was educational and inspirational and would lead to some more elaborate adventures in improvisation.