Lately, I’m loving a fairly blind approach to design, just following my instincts and making choices in the moment. It is “blind” in the sense that I have no idea what the final result will be, apart from the basic underlying architecture. This blanket project is a perfect example.

Here’s the idea. I wanted to knit a blanket in the improvised style of some of my latest quilts, but in an efficient manner that also holds my interest.

Here’s the process. Knit strips of rectangles in various colors of various widths and lengths. Within a strip, come up with a technique for allowing smaller moments of improv. Lather, rinse, repeat. Seam together. Then do some sort of finishing treatment around the edges.

seaming

Because each strip is knit on a small scale at close range, it can be impossible to predict how the strips might work together. So I seamed up some of what I have so far and took a photo. This piece is 18″ x 64″.

Synchopated: one-third done

I’m really glad that I took this half-time assessment. I have two observations. (1) While I prefer tiny pieces, it seems that there is a lower limit on the most productive pieces. That is, the skinniest pieces seem to make muddy areas. Larger scale is better. And (2): this garter stitch is gonna grow like crazy when I block the final blanket. Although the current length is 64″, it’s likely to be closer to 70″ once blocked.

Synchopated: a closer look

After a little more knitting and seaming last night, it is now 30″ wide, so it seems I just need to keep knitting until I can’t take it anymore. I predict, however, that it’s the edge treatment (applied i-cord, maybe?) that will break my spirits.