You know, let’s talk about stuff, as eloquently described by Carlin, but also some baggage stuff. I seem to be preoccupied with stuff these days. the books close at hand are about hoarding, procrastination, organization and vegetarianism–which is essentially how we interact with stuff. There are plenty of ideas about stuff swirling around here for weekly musings for a while.

I might have mentioned before that I joined (maybe even helped to form) StashPact11, a group of folks refraining from purchasing fabric and yarn during 2011 (subject to personally-imposed caveats/exceptions). This seems like a great time to examine stashing behavior more closely and get a better sense of when, why, and how to stash differently.

Shall we begin with why the heck there is a veritable Mt. Scrapmore in my house?

Mt. Scrapmore

I have piles of my own scraps that I share freely with other patchworkers and then there are piles of scraps shared with me from other sewists that I feel compelled to use up until there’s only fabric dust leftover. The nature of most of my patchwork requires regular infusions of scraps in order to diversify the raw materials, but at some point my piecing fell behind the flow of new materials into the house. I still have a need to engage in tedious piecing of tiny scraps, but my instincts are also wondering about larger-scale work.

Goals: Process scraps on-hand into patchwork and share with other patchworkers at a swifter pace, perhaps looking to eliminate current silo of scraps by year’s end. Get over inflated sense of value of yardage and begin to re-imagine use of stash of fabric yardage as merely gigantic scraps?

Unfortunately, Mt. Scrapmore is only the tip of the gigantic iceberg of fabric stashed in my house. I must read more and think more to formulate an understanding of my relationship with it and begin to change. More navel-gazing to come.