So, yeah… I took a break. I took a few days to read, think, play and now I’m feeling a little better. I’ll be back at work full-time every day for the rest of the “break” because that’s what “breaks” are: time to get work done with a little better concentration with fewer folks around.

Anyway, it seemed okay to come back here for a moment too and show you something I finished.

lingering...

I told you about these handdyed batik fabrics and their dyer a couple of weeks ago. And I might have mentioned how much I enjoyed working with these bright happy colors and the cotton and linen textures. The patchwork took a while because I enjoyed Lingering in the luxuriousness so much.

quilting

The quilting process was drawn out too. I had some tension issues with the machine and had to rip out about an hour’s worth of work, which took hours to do. And then I got gunshy and occupied myself with other projects while working up the courage to try again.

a corner

I just quilted in diagonal lines that I eyeballed. I really enjoy how the quilting looks nice and neat from afar, but close inspection reveals the human hand in lack of straightness and some moments when the stitch length shortens.

the edge

But I gotta admit that it’s time for me to grow up and learn how to do free motion quilting because the straight lines are boring. Some loops and curves might be more appropriate on my current tops.

the side

But for now, I’ll just be happy to cuddle up under this for a little while and read a book.

Lingering: all done

Thanks again, Malka!

The Details:
Pattern: basic 4-patch using 2.5″ squares; the border is improvisationally pieced with batik scraps
Materials: Malka‘s handdyed batik fabrics and Essex linen/cotton (brown)
Techniques: machine pieced; machine quilted; handbound
Current size: 56″ square

Started: November 8, 2009
Patchwork Finished: February 16, 2010
Finished: March 15, 2011