Shit, Piss, Fuck, Cunt, Cocksucker, Motherfucker, and Tits. Those are the heavy seven. Those are the ones that’ll infect your soul, curve your spine and keep the country from winning the war. —George Carlin

I was going to…

hmm...

I was going to write about the First Amendment and tell you how much I believe in it–even to protect speech I find abhorrent.

Lenny: in progress

I was going to remind you of the ground-breaking comedian Lenny Bruce and his repeated arrests and trials for indecent speech and/or obscenity.

Lenny: shit piss

I was going to remind you of the late, great poet, comedian and philosopher George Carlin and his Seven Dirty Words bit. Here’s a transcript of the version that got him in trouble with the FCC and was the basis for the case that went all the way to the US Supreme Court.

Lenny: tits

Better yet…I was going to tell you to listen to him. Hear the music in his voice and hear how much he appreciated language.

Gosh, I miss George.

Lenny: draped

I was going to tell you about how much this made me giggle last week.

Lenny: all done

I was going to…but I got lazy. I hope you get the idea anyway.