Spent a few hours working on this quilt again. The longer I worked on it, the more I realized how unacceptable the long-armer’s quilting was. It was sparse and saggy. Quilting should be taut! Every adjustment I made to “fix” it turned into a bigger problem later. Eventually I realized that–if I ever finished–I couldn’t ever look at this quilt again.

working

There were many tears. All I could think about was how much money, time, and energy I’d already wasted and how much more time and energy was still required to finish it. Here are the estimates…

Inspiration and design:……………………………………..a few hours
Denim blue cotton fabric, 5 yds on sale in 2005:….$20.00
Calico cotton fabric, 1 yd:………………………………………5.00
Designer fabric for backing, 4 yds:………………………28.00
Off-white cotton thread for piecing:……………………..who knows?
Patchwork piecing labor:…………………………………….several hours
Priority postage to long-armer:……………………………10.95
Long-armer charges (batting, quilting, etc):…………138.42
Refunded long-armer charges:………………………..-77.52
Blue cotton thread for “fixing” quilting, 5 spools:…..25.00
Pain and suffering:……………………………………………..incalculable

This morning I waved goodbye as the garbage truck sped away with this:

finished.

Yep. See that blue floral fabric peeking out? I balled this quilt-in-progress up and stuffed it into the garbage with the coffee grounds, the garbage-y goo, and rotten chicken smell and immediately took the can out to the curb.

Had I had greater presence of mind, I would have salvaged as much fabric as I could before throwing it away. But I have no other regrets. It’s gone. And now I have peace.