Thanks for your thoughtful comments on yesterday’s post and for respecting my privacy in choosing not to post the quilt so publicly. I always appreciate your support and your advice.

How about something less weight-y and dark?

I’ve wanted to try out this quilt-as-you-go concept and I’ve wanted to make some log cabin blocks with skinny logs. QAYG is like foundation piecing and top-stitching onto batting and it works quite nicely with small slices of fabric.

roygbiv.

The big diagonals and perpendiculars are what attach the backing to this 17″square miniquilt. The other quilting lines are 0.25″ apart.

I have quite a bit to learn to perfect the process, but it really is efficient and fun. Get advice and learn about the QAYG process from Marianne’s tutorial or from Penny’s quilt-along. I am also enjoying the multiple perspectives in an on-going series of guest posts on Lily’s Quilts.