Yesterday I showed you these fabrics. The only way to celebrate these large-scale prints in patchwork is with big chunks. So I assumed this would be a nice project for the painkiller fog of the past few weeks.

Heh. It took me an hour to cut out 25 squares. And then I had to take a nap.

On Crafturday

Slowly seaming, it took a week to sew the rows and get the top together.

rows

I managed to baste and quilt in an afternoon, but the lines are kinda wonky. Eh. No worries. No one else will know.

couch

It’s simple and the colors make me happy.

quilting on impulse

These will be a nice places for reading in the summer.

picnic

a peek at the back

Pattern: just 25 squares smashed together
Materials: hand-batiked flour sack towels from margotbianca; cotton print from stash for backing
Techniques: machine pieced, machine quilted, hand-bound
Finished size: 60.5″ square
Started: May 28, 2011
Finished: June 5, 2011