This is part of a 3-part Ode to Yellow thought up with two super knitters who I love to read. Visit Hello Knitty and Med Pinner to continue.

Happy October!

Last week, while spinning some yellow Falkland wool, I kept thinking about how much I love the color yellow. Now, for many years when I first began quilting and knitting I was very conservative with colors: only navy blue, forest green, white/cream, and black. If I wanted to go wild, I’d use some burgundy yarn or fabric in my projects. Even my cross stitch was (oof, and mainly still is) almost always redwork done in burgundy on cream. I’m trying to remember when I discovered colors…

It was gradual and organic, certainly. I think reading crafting books with colorful photos, exploring blogs, and hanging out in fabric and yarn shops slowly made me want to break free. It was always titillating to watch folks knit brightly colored socks and then more surprising to see them actually wear the socks. I kinda wanted to rebel in this quiet under-the-pants-legs way! How about some self-striping Yarntini in lemon drop?

A Happy Yellow Sock!

It was sock yarn nirvana. It was my gateway drug, opening my willingness to try other colors: alone and ultimately together. Now first I had to try to understand yellow itself. It all followed after communing with some saffron sock yarn from SweetGeorgia. Gah. Really, I could be happily knitting with this yarn and only this yarn for the rest of my life. Just keep it coming! Yellow yellow yellow!

Hedera: getting started

Like the addict I was slowly becoming, I started hunting high and low for yellow yarn. I needed to find the most perfect druggie buzz yellow. Seriously. This pile of wool wormed its way into my brain and I couldn’t stop thinking about the differences and the individual strengths and weaknesses.

A quest for the most perfect yellow yarn...

I really couldn’t decide. They are all perfect. Because they are yellow.

One stands out–even to this day. Jitterbug’s Vincent’s apron from Colinette is just about the right balance of golden tones of sunshine with enough lemony crispness and brownish foundation to carry the day.

vincent's apron

Oh, I could sing the praises of every color in the rainbow today, but it took this love affair with the color yellow to free me from the bonds of the color jail I was in.

A quick upload at Heathrow. [Aug 12, 08]

All hail YELLOW!

This is part of a 3-part Ode to Yellow thought up with two super knitters who I love to read. Visit Hello Knitty and Med Pinner to continue.