I have no idea where this story begins.

How about this? I don’t really love ice cream. I can take or leave it. Lately, it’s best if I leave it. But I can appreciate really goooooooooooood ice cream when I taste it. I do love fresh fruit sorbets and fruity frozen yogurts. Right now, my freezer is filled with half-empty pints of ice cream, yogurts and sorbets shipped to me from Jeni’s in Ohio and a refill seems necessary. You can tell that an artisan is working on these flavors: Goat Cheese with Red Cherries, Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet, and Salty Caramel. Of course, the peanut butter base of The Buckeye State makes it my favorite flavor.

IMG_1912

After eavesdropping on ice cream maker machine conversations on Twitter for the past weeks and then finding out that there’s a Jeni’s book, I took the plunge. I got a Cuisinart 1.5-qt maker and ordered some books (the Jeni’s one, the Ben&Jerry’s one, and last night I ordered The Perfect Scoop). I’m still waiting for two of the books, but luckily the B&J one arrived with the machine and so I could get started immediately.

luscious

Here’s what I did, combining a few recipes from the Ben&Jerry’s book. For a bit more than one quart:

Base: Whip together 2 fresh eggs, 1 pint heavy cream, 1 cup whole milk, 3/4 cup sugar, and 2 tsp vanilla. Refrigerate for one hour.

Macerate berries: Chop 1 pint fresh strawberries and mix with 1/3 cup sugar and juice of 1/2 a lemon. Refrigerate for one hour.

Smash up berries into a nice puree. Then mix puree into the cream base, whipping again. Finish as indicated by your ice cream maker manufacturer’s instructions. Be sure not to overfill like I did…

i made ice cream!

I’m pretty sure nothing can beat the fresh and intense strawberry flavor of this ice cream. And this modern ice cream machine is a vast improvement over the rock salt-and-hand crank version my Dad used way back when!

To begin to figure out what will work for me, I’m looking into frozen yogurt and sorbet recipes. And I’ll commit myself to making something new every week or so this autumn. I’ll report back regularly on how it’s going. Maybe I’ll get an ice cream scoop thingie so I can style some better shots too…?