Having maintained an online crafting presence for about six years now, it can be interesting to play the game of figuring out when I first “met” another crafter. Other times it can be frustrating because it just feels like I’ve been interacting with a person forever and it’s difficult to find the beginning of the trail of interactions. And then I decide maybe it doesn’t matter. The idea is that somehow these online crafting communities give us ways to find each other.

Danielle is one of those folks who I feel I’ve always “known.” She knits the most lovely classy things and spins up perfect yarn from time to time. We met up once–at Rhinebeck two years ago–and Danielle seemed to be the same level-headed and polished person with a nice sense of humor that I imagined her to be. She is also incredibly generous with her knitting, her stash, and with giving great advice.

When I heard that Danielle was expecting her first child, I couldn’t wait to begin knitting and sewing for her to partially repay her for all the generosity she has shown me over the years. Now, I started a baby sweater and the seaming has just about eliminated my last bit of sanity, so we won’t talk about it anymore. But the quilt went okay!

fabrics

The fabrics are fat quarters that came in the first two installments of The Pressed Seam fabric club. The lovely rainbow of prints seemed great for a happy quilt. I threw in some Osnaburg cotton for balance and texture.

in progress

I made the top in one night in the dark, so I have no documentation of the process but I can describe it. I precut the fabrics into 3.5″ strips and then it was an improvisational process from there. I really didn’t have much of an idea in mind when I started but I knew that it couldn’t be wonky. What this result tells me is that I am most likely to make log cabin blocks when patchworking on autopilot.

quilting

The cohesiveness and color blending of the blocks made me very happy, but also a little nervous. So I just went crazy with the colorful scrappy sashing and border. Danielle values right angles and straight lines, but I thought she might not reject my scrappy wackiness within those constraints.

a little seekrit

The quilting is a simple diamond lattice. [I keep mumbling about learning free motion quilting, but I might still be too scared to do it. Really, I also just love the simplicity of latticed quilting, but I ought to grow up and learn new skills. Oy.]

for Danielle

I am so excited that Danielle got the quilt yesterday and she seems to like it. I hope her little one does too. Best of luck to Danielle, Thom and their boy-to-be!

The Details
Pattern: improvisation within sashed log cabins
Materials: several fat quarters in a spectrum of colors gotten through The Pressed Seam fabric club from A Verb for Keeping Warm; strips of Osnaburg, and cotton yardage for backing
Techniques: machine pieced, machine quilted, hand-bound
Finished size: about 46″ square
Started: August 10, 2011
Finished: August 28, 2011