Thanks for the advice on mugs, folks! I have a zillion mugs here–kind of like a minor league team–and I’ll be spending the next week or so auditioning them to see which one will become the new fave. Not gonna lie, I did get myself a zig zag mug yesterday at my very quiet local T*get and it did a passable job getting the coffee into my mouth this morning. [Heh. I also got a zig zag shoebox–the shoes are off to a friend in Chicago now.]

I want to tell you about a wealth of inspiration that arrived a little over a week ago. Sweet reader, Dee, sent me an email out of the blue to offer me a stack of old books (in the foreground, below). My house is stuffed with art and crafting books but the titles she mentioned were very intriguing so I accepted the offer. Thanks, Dee, for thinking of me!

stack

Let’s take a look inside a couple of them! I think that today I’ll just show you the things I immediately reacted to. Each book does contain something I hope to do something with in my own work in the near future. But these things here today are interesting in their own right–anthropologically speaking…maybe?

IMG_2576

The most exciting one is this stitchery book. It has great fonts for embroidery.

embroidery peek

And it has lovely examples of free-hand designs. The samples are still fresh and new: happily improvisational in style.

But then I swear the theme from The Cosby Show started playing in the room when I got to these books. I felt my hair get all big and I leaned down to peg-roll my jeans.

IMG_2581

As a young Floridian during the 80s, knitting of sweaters was far from my reality. But even now I must say that I’d never imagined anyone handknitting these gems.

more intarsia

intarsia

Oversized plus-sized intarsia masterpieces.

IMG_2585

Wow, that’s a lot of knitting! Some are elegant, others are interesting, and I am suddenly inspired to knit! Seriously. If I ever learn how to do intarsia, I am going to recapture this look with my own style.

This last book…, well, you be the judge.

umm...

I quickly flipped to the pattern inside to see if there was a less frightful photo, but…

IMG_2593

While the book does contain some really interesting vintage knitting and sewing patterns that I’ve added to my queue, it has high-kitsch-value gems like this crocheted Barbie bikini. Or is it lingerie? I might have spied a pattern for a crocheted Barbie stripper pole in there.

IMG_2595

I’ll show you some of the more elegant excerpts from this stack of books next week, maybe.

Thanks again, Dee!