Alternate title: Going bananas!

Pretty sure I haven’t gushed about peanut butter around here. But, really, life is not worth living without it. I love pb slathered on hot toast with some fruit for breakfast, pb+j for lunch, satays and Senegalese pb soups for dinner. It’s a life-long love affair.

Yeah, okay. I like bananas too. I also like pink jim-jams with monkeys on them…but I digress.

spotty love.

I had some overripe bananas so I baked up some banana bread using this recipe, using 4 bananas, cutting back on the sugar, and replacing the butter with a dollop of peanut butter. [Definitely mix in a blender or with a mixer if you do this so that the pb incorporates well.] The result is less oily and more complex in flavor and aroma.

banana crazy day

But there were still more spotty bananas taunting me. So then I studied up on pb ice cream recipes to see if a pb+banana combo could work.

IMG_2679

This is based on the pb ice cream recipe in The Perfect Scoop:

In a blender, combine 3/4 cup creamy natural peanut butter, 2.5 cups half and half, 2 sliced ripe bananas, a pinch of salt, 1 tsp vanilla, and 3/4 cup sugar. Blend until smooth and then chill in fridge for 2 hours or more. Then run through your ice cream maker.

pb+banana

Omg. Nom. Can’t wait to taste it with some salted caramel on top.