So…there were some questions about the blanket I showed a glimpse of on Wednesday.

Viewmaster: still in progress

Is there a pattern? Absolutely. I am following this Attic 24 how-to. It’s a very detailed explanation of almost every step of the construction. If you know how to chain and double crochet then you’re ready to start.

IMG_2737

What yarn are you using? For almost all of my blankets I use a variety of affordable worsted weight yarns: KP WotA, Cascade 220, Valley Yarns Northampton. I keep a stash of zillions of colors because I believe in using lots of colors and using them often.

IMG_2729

Gosh, I’d never make something like this because I hate weaving in all those ends. How do you deal with them? Hmm…for one thing I don’t let that kind of worry keep me from project like this; I have a high tolerance for certain types of tedium in crafting. But the real thing is that in this entire blanket there will be only one end to weave in with a darning needle: the final end after seaming the final hexagon. I just crochet over the ends when I do a color change and I trap in the other ends (as done in knitting colorwork) when I seam the hexagons.

IMG_2728

How are you seaming the hexagons? Well, I almost always use a slipped stitch seam using the same color of yarn as the hexagon I am adding. You can read about it here although I do it slightly different.

IMG_2724

Doesn’t the Attic 24 how-to tutorial thingie teach an easier way to join the hexagons? Well, “easier” is one of those things…I personally don’t find her technique any easier or harder than mine. But I certainly do prefer the finished appearance of my traditional seams. There are lots of way to seam. Try some until you find what you like.

IMG_2723

How far along are you? I am more than half but less than three-quarters done with the hexagons. It’s hard to tell how long it will take me to finish, though. RealJob, oy. I both need time to slow down so I can get stuff done, but also I hope that December gets here sooner.

Have a great weekend, friends!