Thanks for your thoughtful comments on my faux French quilt and my wacky decision about my relationship with fabrics. I can say aloud that my issues with the industry are not necessarily with the designs or designers, but rather with the marketing practices and our disgusting consumerist tendencies. I must admit that my preference for sewing with scraps and for upcycling old clothing is a solid choice to acknowledge rather than change myself to fit with the marketplace and appeal to a broader blog audience. I have no other plans for how to move forward, but it will probably involve slicing and dicing my stash quite a bit.

IMG_2957

How about another quilt? It’s a little one this time.

I found some lovely handprinted linen napkins from Willow Ship and decided that they’d be a nice way to support an artist and make a “kaleidoscope-type” quilt block in a simple way. I’m pretty sure that Blake had no idea of my intentions, but it was sweet to get a little thank-you note.

IMG_2975

Seriously, I just zipped the napkins together with 3 seams, backed with a fat quarter from a vintage sheet, and quilted in a straight grid. All total, this took way less than an hour! Hand-sewing the binding took a little longer.

IMG_2967

This is a gift for a friend who I’ll meet for the first time at the NY Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck tomorrow. I hope she likes it!

a gift

The fabric shrank in the wash and softened up beautifully. This reminds me that I ought to sew with linen more often…

Golden Simplicity

Have a great weekend!

The Details:

Design: simple patchwork and quilting with handprinted linen
Materials: handprinted linen napkins from Willow Ship; vintage sheet for backing from In Color Order; muslin for binding
Techniques: machine pieced, machine quilted, handbound
Size: about 18″ square

Started: October 5, 2011
Finished: October 6, 2011