Back in May 2009 I wrote:

if i had the luxury of owning yardage of Malka‘s handdyed batiks, i’d totally make this quilt at normal scale. this is 7″x7.5″.

as a personal challenge, i gave myself an hour and eight 5″ charm squares to see what might happen at the sewing machine and then spent another half-hour handquilting some circles. such a liberating exercise.

mini malka: for mini quilt week

And now, two years later, one soon will be able to buy yardage of Malka’s fabric designs more affordably since Moda made a great move to distribute her designs. Here is her booth at Market. I think that I’d love to continue to support Malka as an artist and might even overlook my issues with Moda to do so.

Modern Mini Quilt button This post is a quickie to link up with the Sew and Tell miniquilt challenge and to mention the new Modern miniquilt flickr group. There are lots of interesting projects already shared in the group and I certainly will be a regular visitor over there.

I hope you had a great weekend!