So things Chez Cauchy have been all off-kilter for quite a while. Here are my apologies for comments and emails with delayed replies. Oy. I can only promise to be better in 3 weeks. Just, well, make that 4 more weeks of hard times at RealJob.

The best mail of the past couple of weeks has been some amazing blocks rolling in for the Give a F*ck project. [For those making blocks, the deadline is January 1. Earlier arrivals are helpful, but I don’t want to miss out on getting you included if you need more time.]
.
.
.
Do I really need to put up a disclaimer?
.
.
.
.
Yep. The block today contains an English word that some find disturbing.
.
.
.
.
Last weekend, someone over in Twitterland called the f*ck word trashy.
.
.
.
.
I find the word trashy to be awfully trashy, actually. Heading down the rabbit hole, I must remark that trashy is klassy. (Yep, with a K.)
.
.
.
.
Long long ago, in a moment when I was trying to get a sibling in trouble for saying certain words, my dad taught me that there are no dirty words. He went on to say that one could find more creative or humorous ways to put things when avoiding using some words, but the words themselves aren’t dirty or shameful. And he asserted that “sometimes these abhorrent words are fucking necessary.”
.
.
.
.
Lately, I call the f*ck word beautiful, especially in the hands of my patchworking heroes like Daniel Rouse.

Block #2

I love the visual subtlety of his design. And I appreciate so much more that the design seems like Dan to me. His curve-piecing is to die for: go look at these denim flowers for example; and his stencil quilts sealed his hero status in my book. No really, go check out the gingko, the T-Rex, Harvey Milk and the glorious stag over here. Oh no, don’t miss the stag! It is elegant reverse-applique at its best.

Thanks Dan!!