Disclaimer: The eff-word is spelled out in big green letters below. If you don’t appreciate the English language or if you dislike the color green, then come back later. Well, it’ll be all f*cks all the time this week with daily posts about that communal quilt project. So…
.
.
.
.

A brief scrolling interlude.
.
.
.

Here’s a secret: I can be spiteful. I get impish thoughts and mostly tamp them down, but every so often I act on them.

.
.
.
.

When a few months ago someone got all frothed and rude about one of my potty-mouthed projects, I decided to go all in and make a quilt that would scream back at her. I polled a few folks over on Twitter about the color of a f*ck and the consensus was a vibrant grass green. And it also became clear that an eventual rainbow of f*ck quilts is called for.

The piecing only took a few late nights back in August. All the work was done in the dark so I didn’t take any progress shots. It was nice just to indulge in the sewing without thinking too much about how to describe the process. Here it is: I sewed a bunch; there were tons of bias edges; it got done.

And then I sent the top off to the amazing Christina for longarm quilting. She did an all-over pattern of leaves that combine nicely with the straight lines and greenery of the design.

another one?

Christina is a complete professional in her communication and in the quality of her work. I highly recommend her services, although you’ll need to wait until after the holidays.

IMG_3819

Due to the size of the quilt and the sensitivity of the public, I’m not so good at getting a full shot of this quilt.

The Big Eff: on the bed

But here it is on the fence, kinda wishing for a more artful presentation.

The Big Eff: on the fence

Nevermind. I think it gets the message across.

Heh.

The Details:

Materials: Osnaburg cotton, green semisolid cotton, green cotton print yardage for backing
Techniques: machine pieced by me; longarm machine quilted by the amazing Christina; and hand-bound by me
Finished size: 78″ x 84″
Started: August 10, 2011
Finished: December 10, 2011