Every so often, I need a reminder to slow down, reflect, and enjoy who I am, where I live, and how I love and am loved.

IMG_4941

We are always presented with images of Western ideals to which to aspire–many detrimental, vapid and ethically challenged standards that are best moderated or avoided altogether.

IMG_4967

Once everything–school, work, kids, house, car, etc–becomes a competition, where will we find joy? Is happiness only to be found in “winning”? When is enough enough?

IMG_4970

Even within our crafterly communities there are those who view the enterprise of creating as a race or a competition. Why not cheer each other on, encouraging independence and diversity? Why be a hater?

IMG_4977

And why not just make what you love for your own enjoyment or catharsis?

nope. it's not.

Eh. I’ll finish stitching it whenever I finish.

It’s a mantra.