Time to show you the final block to arrive for the Give a F*ck project!

The quilt overall will need some sort of sashing to allow me to increase some block sizes and to frame out and separate some of the busier blocks from each other. It’s been a struggle to audition fabrics for it because it doesn’t seem that there’ll be one fabric that will work for ALL the blocks. I’m thinking that I might use 53 different sashing fabrics! Or maybe a scrappy sashing? But that could look too busy overall…

And then there’s the layout to contemplate. I don’t want to make a regular, evenly spaced grid of blocks. My inspiration is those old cabinets of wonder: open-topped wooden boxes with irregularly placed compartments holding fascinating things. There’s a mock-up of this with a few blocks below the jump.

Disclaimer: The f*ck word appears down below. If that’s gonna be a problem, then don’t scroll down. Instead go learn about how little we respect women and their rights in this nation. Virginia wants to probe you. So does Pennsylvania.

.
.
.

This filet crochet block made by Beverly is unique and quite lovely in person. My photography skills are not up to the task of capturing the word very well. But you can see it well in person.

IMG_4924

Just squint a bit. It might actually be more visible in a smaller sized photo.

IMG_4924

Here’s the mock-up of the concept of the quilt. The scales are all off and they won’t meet in such a square fashion. I dunno, this mock-up doesn’t really show what I want to do.

mock-up

I guess I should just hunker down and do it and hope I don’t wreck all the blocks that folks made.