So…how about another finished quilt from last year?

On July 1, 2014 I was granted a bit of freedom from RealJob. It’s a freedom I’ve not had in many years and it turned out to be the Best Thing Ever.

Part of my time was spent catching up on all the creative work I’d missed out on for a year. And then I began to think about what ought to be next.

In Hogtown

Ever just ask yourself…what if?

In Hogtown

What if you want to sew log cabin blocks using skinny strips? (Let’s go with 5/8″.) And what if you don’t mind some wonky personality in them? And what if…? You name it.

In Hogtown

What if you vary the sizes and don’t require squares?

In Hogtown

Eventually I made this quilt that joins In Wedowee and In Anniston as part of a series of log cabin quilts representing places important to me. This one is my college town, with all the various structures: long skinny dorms, teetering houses in the student ghetto, etc.

In Hogtown

This one exhibited in Houston at the International Quilt Festival in October 2014 as part of the American Made Brand Farm to Fabric.

In Hogtown

The Details:

Materials: American Made Brand cotton solids in almost all the colors
Techniques: machine pieced; machine quilted; hand-bound
Finished size: about 30″ square
Started : June 28, 2014
Finished:August 15, 2014