The parade of finished quilts from 2014 is feeling weird to me. I much prefer talking about the process in closer to real-time, rather than reflecting more generally. This is one for which communication with other makers would have been nice.

Sadly, it seems I should remind you of Michael Brown, an 18 year-old unarmed young man shot and killed by a police officer in Ferguson, Missouri on the night of August 9, 2014. In the hours, days, and weeks thereafter, the local police aggressively responded to peaceful protestors.

Now…that’s the nutshell without mentioning race and without reminding oneself that this happens often.

My thoughts went to the parents of MB and the parents of young black males, and the parents of any child who might “fit the profile of a suspect.” This is personal. And it should be personal to anyone who values human life. And I’m tired of ranting about this. I had the words churning back then and half-expected them to turn into pseudo-eloquence but, well, it’s all too much.

Because I’ve lost hope.
.

You came for a quilt? Well, I’ll just flash some process photos without much narration. I grabbed a stack of dark fabrics of all fiber content (cotton, corduroy, silk, satin, polyester, some sparkle, velvet, jute, you name it!), turned it into a large log cabin and then densely handquilted all over in black silk. Finally finished with six stylized embroidered gunshots.

A meditation on the ruination of the black home.

Elegy

Elegy

Elegy

Elegy

Elegy

Elegy

Elegy

Elegy

I’ll leave it there, though this seems unfinished…

Elegy for Mike

.
.

The Details:

Materials: my own handdyed indigo on flour sacking; quilting cotton, silk, burlap, satin, canvas, velvet, among other fabrics; flannel lining; cotton backing; cotton and silk embroidery threads
Techniques: machine pieced; hand quilted; hand embroidered; hand faced
Finished size: about 50″ square
Started : August 27, 2014
Finished:September 7, 2014