Oh, indigo, how do I love thee! Every year around this time I brew up the dye vats and dip-oxidize away, turning everything I own blue. It’s a compulsion and a meditative process.

Of course, many yards of various substrates of cotton get dunked.

indigo addiction

But this time I wanted to experiment with overdyeing quilted sandwiches. These are wholecloth swatches, one with silk batting and the other (below) with 80/20 cotton/poly and embellished with trapunto. Before and after…

indigo addiction

indigo addiction

indigo addiction

indigo addiction

I think the overdyed version is more successful because the thread darkened more than the fabric. But I’m not certain if instead originally quilting with darker thread on blue cotton would give the same results. I’m going to fantasize for a moment that overdyeing makes a difference.

This trapunto quilt captures the aroma of the dye vats.

indigo addiction

What else should be blue? I ombre-dyed some t-shirts and double-dipped a banana (nothing happened). Nature’s perfect packaging, indeed.